Blog

Idaho Fur Trappers Wanted — to Grow Up

i Feb 1st by

Seriously, what century is this? Aren’t enough animals being farmed for fur — so many that companies sometimes misrepresent whether clothing they sell uses animal or faux fur — that we don’t need competitions to kill more? People are the beasts in this scenario.

Idaho Fish and Game are part of this depraved situation, which appears to be at least tacitly condoned by U.S. Fish and Wildlife officials, according to The Smokey Wire website, which is administered by Sharon Friedman, Ph.D., forest geneticist, Forest Service retiree (2012) and former chair of both the Forest Policy Committee and Forest Science and Technology Board at the Society of American Foresters.

What’s Idaho Fish and Game upset about? Of the 2.6 million cattle and sheep in Idaho at any given time, about 77 cattle and 61 sheep have been killed each year there since 2009, according to a post on The Smokey Wire by Matthew Koehler. That compares to fewer than 1,000 wolves, last time Idaho counted. It’s worth reading his whole post to learn more about this subject.

If you’re in Boise, please visit Idaho Fish and Game in person to let them know what you think: 600 S. Walnut, Boise, ID. If you’re not, please call them at (208) 334-3700 and call or email Idaho Fish and Game Commission Members:

  • Derick Attebury of Idaho Falls, derick.attebury@idfg.idaho.gov, (208) 525-7290
  • Jerry Meyers of North Fork, Salmon.Commissioner@idfg.idaho.gov, (208) 756-2271
  • Brad Corkill of Cataldo, brad.corkill@idfg.idaho.gov, (208) 769-1414
  • Dan Blanco of Moscow, dan.blanco@idfg.idaho.gov, (208) 799-5010
  • Tim Murphy of Nampa, tim.murphy@idfg.idaho.gov, (208) 465-8465
  • Greg Cameron of Rupert, MagicValley.Commissioner@idfg.idaho.gov, (208) 324-4359
  • Lane Clezie of Pocatello, lane.clezie@idfg.idaho.gov, (208) 232-4703

You also can call the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, which funds the wolf hunt: 800-225-5355.