Blog

Save Washington State Geese From Slaughter

i Jul 24th by

geeseSometimes the animal killing is far away: Pilot whales slaughtered this week in the Faroe Islands. Dolphin season coming soon to Taiji, Japan. And 150,000 boy chicks ground up alive every day at a hatchery in Iowa.

Then there are the killings at home.

More than 1,200 Canada geese and goslings were gassed and shot by Wildlife Services last year in King County alone.

There are more humane ways to reduce the goose population and its effects:

  • Sterilization
  • OvoControl-G, a proven oral birth control for geese
  •  Landscape modifications
  • Goose deterrent products and control techniques
  • Automated devices to clean up goose droppings
  • Education and public outreach on the need to stop feeding waterfowl

It’s a myth that they are a health threat.

“Canada geese are not considered to be a significant source of any infectious disease transmittable to humans or domestic animals,” according to the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife.

Many local governments and agencies are part of a 2015 interlocal agreement to kill geese.

Washington State Parks, the latest member of the agreement, hired Wildlife Services in 2013 to kill geese at Lake Sammamish State Park.

Last year, it hired them again to kill geese there and at Deception Pass State Parks — after saying it had no such plans.

TAKE ACTION

1. Please sign this petition to the Washington entities that are behind these killings — and read up on alternatives on the same web page.

2. “Like” the Peace for Geese Project page on Facebook.

3. Attend city council meetings and contact your elected officials. Here are possible talking points:

  • Interlocal agreement members need to stop the killing and implement a management plan that includes only proven humane measures.
  • Members need to be held accountable for the killing and for accepting obvious omissions and inaccuracies in the record keeping and reporting provided by Wildlife Services. Our tax dollars go toward this, and we at least should have an accurate accounting of how many geese are killed, how they are killed, when, and where.
  • Some members including Seattle, Washington State Parks and others deny any geese are killed in their parks. However, membership fees for the interlocal agreement are used primarily for this purpose — whether it happens in their parks or not. Tht makes them responsible for killing the geese, even if they deny it.

Here’s contact information for officials involved in the interlocal agreement to kill Washington’s geese:

City of Bellevue

Mayor Claudia Balducci
450 110th Ave. NE
P.O. Box 90012
Bellevue, WA 98009
Phone 425.452.7810
cbalducci@bellevuewa.gov

Bellevue City Council
450 110th Ave. NE
P.O. Box 90012
Bellevue, WA 98009
Phone 425.452.7810
council@bellevuewa.gov

Pat Harris, Grounds Operations Manager
450 110th Ave. NE
P.O. Box 90012
Bellevue, WA 98009
Phone 425.452.6855

PHarris@bellevuewa.gov

Brad Miyake, City Manager
450 110th Ave. NE
P.O. Box 90012
Bellevue, WA 98009
Phone 425.452.7288
bmiyake@bellevuewa.gov
Patrick Foran, Director of Parks and Community Services
450 110th Ave. NE
P.O. Box 90012
Bellevue, WA 98009
Phone 425.452.5377

pforan@bellevuewa.gov

City of Kent

Mayor Suzette Cooke
220 Fourth Avenue South
Kent, WA 98032
Phone 253.856.5700

Mayor@kentwa.gov

Kent City Council
220 Fourth Avenue South
Kent, WA 98032
Phone 253.856.5712

Citycouncil@kentwa.gov

Jeff Watling, Director
Parks, Recreation & Community Services
220 Fourth Avenue South
Kent, WA 98032
Phone 253.856.5100

jwatling@kentwa.gov
City of Kirkland

Mayor Amy Walen
123 5th Avenue
Kirkland WA 98033
Phone 425.587.3532

awalen@kirklandwa.gov

Kirkland City Council
123 5th Avenue
Kirkland WA 98033
Phone 425.587.3001

citycouncil@kirklandwa.gov

Kurt Triplett, City Manager
123 5th Avenue
Kirkland WA 98033
Phone 425.587.3020

ktriplett@kirklandwa.gov

Jennifer Schroder, Parks and Community Services Director
123 5th Avenue
Kirkland WA 98033
Phone 425.587.3301

jschroder@kirklanvdwa.gov

Jason Filan, Park Operations Manager
123 5th Avenue
Kirkland WA 98033
Phone 425.587.3341

JFilan@kirklandwa.gov

City of Mountlake Terrace

Mayor Jerry Smith
6100 219th Street SW, Suite 200
Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043
Phone 425.774.7335

cityhall@ci.mlt.wa.us

Arlene Fisher, City Manager
6100 219th Street SW, Suite 200
Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043
Phone 425.776.1161

afisher@ci.mlt.wa.us

Curt Brees, Public Works Director
6100 219th Street SW, Suite 200
Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043
Phone 425.670.8264

cbrees@ci.mlt.wa.us

City of Renton

Mayor Denis Law
1055 S. Grady Way
Renton, WA 98057
Phone 425.430.6500
dlaw@rentonwa.gov

Renton City Council
1055 S. Grady Way
Renton, WA 98057
Phone 425.430.6501
council@rentonwa.gov

Kelly Beymer, Parks and Golf Course Director
1055 S. Grady Way
Renton, WA 98057
Phone 425.430.6617

kbeymer@rentonwa.gov

City of SeaTac

Mayor Mia Gregerson
4800 South 188th Street
SeaTac, WA 98188-8605
Phone 206.973.4800

mgregerson@ci.seatac.wa.us

SeaTac City Council
4800 South 188th Street
SeaTac, WA 98188-8605
Phone 206.973.4800

CityCouncil@ci.seatac.wa.us

Todd Cutts, City Manager
4800 South 188th Street
SeaTac, WA 98188-8605
Phone 206.973.4816

tcutts@ci.seatac.wa.us

Roger Chouinard, Parks Operation Manager
4800 South 188th Street
SeaTac, WA 98188-8605
Phone 206.973.4789

rchouinard@ci.seatac.wa.us

Kit Ledbetter, Parks & Recreation Director
4800 South 188th Street
SeaTac, WA 98188-8605
Phone 206.973.4671

kledbetter@ci.seatac.wa.us

City of Seattle

Mayor Edward B. Murray
PO Box 94749
Seattle, WA  98124-4749
Phone 206.684.2489

Contact form: http://www.seattle.gov/mayor/get-involved/contact-the-mayor

Seattle City Council
PO Box 34025
Seattle, WA 98124-4025
Phone 206.684.2489

council@seattle.gov

Jesús Aguirre, Superintendent
Seattle Parks and Recreation
100 Dexter Ave N.
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone 206.684.8022
jesus.aguirre@seattle.gov

Barbara DeCaro, Resource Conservation Coordinator 

Seattle Parks and Recreation

100 Dexter Ave N.
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone 206.615.1660

barbara.decaro@seattle.gov

City of Tacoma

Mayor Marilyn Strickland
Tacoma Municipal Building
747 Market Street
12th Floor
Tacoma WA 98402
Phone 253.594.7848
marilyn.strickland@cityoftacoma.org

Jack C. Wilson, Executive Director
Tacoma Metro Parks
4702 S 19th St
Tacoma, WA 98405
Phone 253.305.1091
jackw@tacomaparks.com Marina Becker, Department Director Parks and Natural Resources
Tacoma Metro Parks
4702 S 19th St
Tacoma, WA 98405
Phone 253.305.1050

marinab@tacomaparks.com

Tim Reid, President, Tacoma Metro Parks Board
Tacoma Metro Parks
4702 S 19th St
Tacoma, WA 98405
Phone 253.305.1091

treid@tacomaparks.com

Erik Hanberg, Tacoma Metro Parks Board
Tacoma Metro Parks
4702 S 19th St
Tacoma, WA 98405
Phone 253.305.1091

ehanberg@tacomaparks.com

Larry Dahl, Tacoma Metro Parks Board
Tacoma Metro Parks
4702 S 19th St
Tacoma, WA 98405
Phone 253.305.1091

ldahl@tacomaparks.com

Aaron Pointer, Tacoma Metro Parks Board
Tacoma Metro Parks
4702 S 19th St
Tacoma, WA 98405
Phone 253.305.1091

apointer@tacomaparks.com

Andrea Smith, Tacoma Metro Parks Board
Tacoma Metro Parks
4702 S 19th St
Tacoma, WA 98405
Phone 253.305.1091

asmith@tacomaparks.com

City of Tukwila

Mayor Jim Haggerton
6200 Southcenter Blvd.
Tukwila, WA 98188-2544
Phone 206.433.1850
Mayor@tukwilawa.gov

Tukwila City Council
6200 Southcenter Blvd.
Tukwila, WA 98188-2544
Phone 206.433.8993
citycouncil@TukwilaWa.gov

Rick Still, Parks and Recreation Director
12424 42nd Avenue South
Tukwila, WA 98168
Phone 206.767.2342

parksrec@tukwilawa.gov

Curt Chandler, Golf Course Superintendent
13490 Interurban Avenue South
Tukwila, WA 98168
Phone 206.242.4221

curt.chandler@tukwilawa.gov

City of Woodinville

Mayor Bernie Talmas
17301-133rd Avenue NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
Phone 425.489.2700

btalmas@ci.woodinville.wa.us

Woodinville City Council
17301-133rd Avenue NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
Phone 425.489.2700

citycouncil@ci.woodinville.wa.us

Richard Leahy, City Manager
17301-133rd Avenue NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
Phone 425.877.2275

richardl@ci.woodinville.wa.us

Amy Ensminger, Sr. Admin. Asst
17301-133rd Avenue NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
Phone 425.877.2274

amye@ci.woodinville.wa.us

Port of Seattle – Seattle-Tacoma International Airport

Mark Reis, Airport Director Seattle-Tacoma International Airport
P.O. Box 68727
Seattle, WA 98168

reis.m@portseattle.org

Steve Osmek, Airport Wildlife Biologist and Manager
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport
P.O. Box 68727
Seattle, WA 98168
Phone 206.787.4453

osmek.s@portseattle.org

University of Washington

Ana Mari Cauce, Interim President
University of Washington
301 Gerberding Hall
Box 351230
Seattle, WA 98195 Phone 206.543.5010
pres@uw.edu

Jude Van Buren, Director of Environmental Health & Safety University of Washington

229 Hall Health Center
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone 206.616.4146

judev@u.washington.edu

Charles Easterberg, Senior Public Health Advisor
University of Washington
Box 354400
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone 206.543.7209

easterbg@uw.edu

Washington State Parks

Andrew Fielding, Resource Steward

P.O. Box 42650

Olympia, WA 98504-2650

Phone 509.665.4312

Andrew.Fielding@PARKS.WA.GOV

Don Hoch, Washington State Parks Director
P.O. Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504-2650
Phone 360.902.8844

Don.Hoch@PARKS.WA.GOV

Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
P.O. Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504-2650
Phone 360.902.8544

Commission@parks.wa.gov

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: Joseph Sands, Wildlife Biologist, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

joseph_sands@fws.gov

City of Bellevue

cbalducci@bellevuewa.gov; council@bellevuewa.gov; PHarris@bellevuewa.gov; bmiyake@bellevuewa.gov; pforan@bellevuewa.gov

City of Kent

Mayor@kentwa.gov; Citycouncil@kentwa.gov; jwatling@kentwa.gov

City of Kirkland

awalenl@kirklandwa.gov; citycouncil@kirklandwa.gov; ktriplett@kirklandwa.gov; jschroder@kirklanvdwa.gov; JFilan@kirklandwa.gov

City of Mountlake Terrace

cityhall@ci.mlt.wa.us; afisher@ci.mit.wa.us; cbrees@ci.mlt.wa.us

City of Renton

dlaw@rentonwa.gov; council@rentonwa.gov; kbeymer@rentonwa.gov

City of SeaTac

mgregerson@ci.seatac.wa.us; CityCouncil@ci.seatac.wa.us; tcutts@ci.seatac.wa.us; rchouinard@ci.seatac.wa.us; kledbetter@ci.seatac.wa.us

City of Seattle

council@seattle.gov; jesus.aguirre@seattle.gov; barbara.decaro@seattle.gov; laurie.dunlap@seattle.gov; rachel.acosta@seattle.gov

City of Tacoma

marilyn.strickland@cityoftacoma.org; jackw@tacomaparks.com; marinab@tacomaparks.com; treid@tacomaparks.com; ehanberg@tacomaparks.com; ldahl@tacomaparks.com; apointer@tacomaparks.com; asmith@tacomaparks.com

City of Tukwila

Mayor@tukwilawa.gov; citycouncil@TukwilaWa.gov; parksrec@tukwilawa.gov; curt.chandler@tukwilawa.gov

City of Woodinville

btalmas@ci.woodinville.wa.us; citycouncil@ci.woodinville.wa.us; richardl@ci.woodinville.wa.us; amye@ci.woodinville.wa.us

Port of Seattle – Seattle-Tacoma International Airport

reis.m@portseattle.org; osmek.s@portseattle.org

University of Washington

pres@uw.edu; judev@u.washington.edu; easterbg@uw.edu

Washington State Parks

Andrew.Fielding@PARKS.WA.GOV; Don.Hoch@PARKS.WA.GOV; Commission@parks.wa.gov

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

joseph_sands@fws.gov