Blog

Action Alerts

i Aug 1st by

Support H.R. 2210: Sportsmanship in Hunting Act of 2011

Tell your Federal Representative and Senators to Support H.R. 2210: Sportsmanship in Hunting Act of 2011 that would prohibit the interstate transport of exotic mammals for the purpose of trophy hunting or penning in smaller than 1,000 acres, and would also ban remote-controlled Internet hunting.
Bill description: This bill would prohibit the interstate transport of exotic mammals for the purpose of trophy hunting or penning in smaller than 1,000 acres, and would also ban remote-controlled Internet hunting.

Contact your U.S. Representative

Contact your U.S. Senators

Read the full text of the bill and follow its progress here:
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/BILLS-112hr2210ih/pdf/BILLS-112hr2210ih.pdf

Write to the Seattle City Council and ask them to support the immediate release of the elephants to The Elephant Sanctuary.

Even a single-sentence message like:  ”Send the elephants at WPZ to The Elephant Sanctuary” will have an impact.
Consider the following points when writing your letters on behalf of the elephants incarcerated for life at Woodland Park Zoo or click on Issues for a complete overview of the elephant program:

– They have an inhumane amount of space (less than 1 acre), whereas they would have between 300 and 2200 acres at The Elephant Sanctuary.

– They are locked up in a small barn stall 16 – 17 hours a day for about 7 months of the year due to temperatures and wetness. At The Elephant Sanctuary, they would have 24-hour outdoor access all year long.

– Many elephants with symptoms similar to the elephants at WPZ, have thrived at The Elephant Sanctuary with it’s hundreds of acres of varying terrain, fresh foliage, and water features.

– The Woodland Park Zoo is managed privately but is still owned by the City of Seattle and overseen by the Parks, Neighborhoods & Education Committee.  About $6.5 million taxpayer dollars goes to support the zoo.

Individual emails listed below:

Sally Bagshaw, Seattle City Council, Parks Committee Chair
sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov             206-684-8801

Richard Conlin, Seattle City Council, Council President
richard.conlin@seattle.gov,             206-684-8805

Sally J. Clark, Seattle City Council
sally.clark@seattle.gov,             206-684-8802

Nick Licata, Seattle City Council
nick.licata@seattle.gov,             206-684-8803

Bruce Harrell, Seattle City Council
bruce.harrell@seattle.gov,             206-684-8804

Tim Burgess, Seattle City Council
tim.burgess@seattle.gov,             206-684-8806

Jean Godden, Seattle City Council
jean.godden@seattle.gov,             206-684-8807

Tom Rasmussen, Seattle City Council
tom.rasmussen@seattle.gov,             206-684-8808