Quickest Easiest Action Alert Ever: 2 clicks

Woodland Park Prison Zoo has announced it will send its lone African elephant,  Watoto, to be exhibited in another zoo. Which could be even worse than here.

watoto-300x199

Watoto is 44 years old, and has spent every miserable one of them at Woodland Park since since she was taken from her mother as a baby in Kenya. IT IS NOT RIGHT that she die in a zoo.  After 44 years of making money for WPZ,  they OWE her.  Every person who ever went to the zoo (myself included, once 15 years ago) owes her.  Way more than can ever be repaid, for the theft of 44 years of family, friends and freedom.  She has a host of painful health issues, as well as the emotional ones caused by prolonged solitary confinement. The absolute LEAST the Zoo should do is let her go.  And the Performing Animal Welfare Society (PAWS) in California is willing to take her. There, she could roam on 80 acres of rolling hills, with a therapy pool, lake, and six other elephants.

el_eleslake

Sign a petition to Seattle’s mayor asking that Watoto be retired to a sanctuary:

http://www.change.org/petitions/help-stop-elephant-abuse-at-seattle-s-woodland-park-zoo 

Even better, please ALSO email/tweet the Mayor, City Council and Zoo management. Say as much or as little (“Retire Watoto to a sanctuary.”) as you like.

Email: Ed.murray@seattle.gov, Jean.Godden@seattle.gov, Sally.Bagshaw@seattle.gov, Tim.Burgess@seattle.gov, Sally.Clark@seattle.gov,  Bruce.Harrell@seattle.gov, Nick.Licata@seattle.gov, Tom.Rasmussen@seattle.gov, Mike.OBrien@seattle.gov, Kshama.Sawant@seattle.gov, Deborah.jensen@zoo.org, Bruce.Bohmke@zoo.org, Darin.Collins@zoo.org, nancy.hawkes@zoo.org, zooinfo@zoo.org

Tweet: @Mayor_Ed_Murray   @SeattleCouncil   @woodlandparkzoo

Also, save the date:  Oct. 4th from noon to 2pm.  Friends of Woodland Park Zoo Elephants is one of the sponsors of the Global March for Elephants and Rhinos. Details coming. 

Come on. Whatever time remains to her with warmth, freedom and companionship…and all you have to do is take a minute or two? Don’t even think of saying “Later”.

Update, August 22: If you are only reading about this now, it is too late for Watoto, who died today. “Too Late” is a pretty terrible thing. It means she never. ever. knew a grassy meadow, or bathed in a lake, or made decisions about where she wanted to go and with whom.  Not the world.  Just simple things that should be natural for everyone.  But she never had them, and now she never will.  Let’s make sure we never have to say that about Chai and Bamboo. You were going to write for Watoto; write for Chai and Bamboo:

LET. THEM. GO.

 

Action alerts, news, tips, stories, and resources for Animal Advocates in the NW