Action Alerts

Take Action to get the Spay/Neuter Assistance Bill, HB 1226 Passed

To help this bill pass through committee, we need you to take action!  Here are THREE things you can do.

ONE. Please attend the hearing on March 3rd if possible. Sign in “PRO” (in favor of the bill) on the sign-in sheet. If you wish to testify, please indicate so on the sign-in sheet.  The bill number is HB 1226.

TWO.  Submit your testimony or letter of support in writing

THREE.  If you cannot attend the hearing, please send your written testimony to the committee by email. Following are the committee members’ email addresses. We suggest addressing your comments to all of the members. However, if you live in a member’s district, you may wish to address your comments specifically to your legislator. Your comments should be sent no later than March 3, 2011 to the committee. Please identify yourself by name, address, affiliation, and refer to the bill number, HB 1226.

Ruth Kagi, Chair (D) 32nd District:  ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov
Mary Helen Roberts, Vice Chair (D) 21st District:  maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov
Maureen Walsh (R) 16th District:  maureen.walsh@leg.wa.gov
Mike Hope (R) 44th District:  mike.hope@leg.wa.gov
Mary Lou Dickerson (D) 36th District: marylou.dickerson@leg.wa.gov
Roger Goodman (D) 45th District:  roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov
Norm Johnson (R) 14th District:  norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov
Tina Orwall (D) 33rd District:  tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov
Jason Overstreet (R) 42nd District: jason.overstreet@leg.wa.gov

For more information & talking points, see this link

Help to Stop Sport Hound Hunting of Cougars
In 1996 Washington voters overwhelmingly passed I-655, banning the use of dogs to aid the hunting of cougars, black bear, bobcat or lynx. Included in this initiative were safeguards to allow the removal of problem cougars in an effort to protect livestock, domestic animals, private property, and ensure public safety.
However, some legislators now want to overturn the will of the voters by claiming that hound hunting is a “tool for cougar population conservation and management” and to address cougar populations that have “exceeded a community’s tolerance.”

TAKE ACTION
Please make a brief, polite call to your Washington state representative and urge opposition to H.B. 1124. Look up your state legislator’s name and phone number.

After you make your calls, please fill out and submit the form here to automatically send a brief, polite email message to your Washington state representative and urge opposition to H.B. 1124. Elected officials receive a lot of email. Be sure to edit your message so it stands out.

Share
This entry was posted in Action Alerts by rachel. Bookmark the permalink.

About rachel

Hi, I'm Rachel and I've been active with NARN as long as I've been vegan 13 years! I made the choice to be vegan after learning about what happens to egg laying chickens and dairy cows. I had previously been vegetarian for 7 years because I finally made the connection that beef came from cows and pork came from pigs (duh, I know). I didn't want my food choices to cause the death of an animal. It just seems like common sense to not eat animals if you care at all about animals, the earth or your fellow human beings. I became active with NARN because after I found out about the atrocities happening to animals, I felt that I had to do what I could to help stop these injustices. NARN is local, puts the animals first, and networks with other groups. We aren't worried about getting credit - just helping the animals. One of my favorite quotes is: "I think the purpose of life is to be useful, to be responsible, to be compassionate. It is, above all to matter, to count, to stand for something, to have made some difference that you lived at all." ~ Leo Rosten and "Progress in every age results only from the fact that there are some men and women who refuse to believe that what they know to be right cannot be done." --Russell W. Davenport

Comments are closed.