Action Alerts

Support Washington State Proposed Shark Fin Ban
Shark finning is the practice of slicing off the shark’s fins while the shark is still alive and throwing the rest of its body back into the ocean where it can take days to die what must be an agonizing death. Some sharks starve to death, others are slowly eaten by other fish, and some drown, because sharks need to keep moving to force water through their gills for oxygen.
Earlier this week, the Washington state legislature introduced a bill to ban the shark fin trade. This bill prohibits the possession of trade in shark fins, similar to the groundbreaking Hawaii law. The text of SB 5688 can be seen here.
Take action
Support the passage of a Washington State bill that prohibits the possession of trade in shark fins, similar to the groundbreaking Hawaii law.
Written testimony can be sent to the Members of the Natural Resources & Marine Waters Committee. Testimony should be addressed to Senator Kevin Ranker, chairman of the Natural Resources and Marine Waters committee. And it should be sent to ALL committee members.

To:
Senator Kevin Ranker ranker.kevin@leg.wa.gov
Senator Debbie Regala regala.debbie@leg.wa.gov
Senator Bob Morton morton.bob@leg.wa.gov
Senator Jim Hargrove hargrove.jim@leg.wa.gov
Senator Val Stevens stevens.val@leg.wa.gov
Senator Dan Swecker swecker.dan@leg.wa.gov

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>